University of Wisconsin–Madison

WI Public Library Director Certification Course Scholarship

Continuing Education Services at the UW-Madison iSchool announces a scholarship for Wisconsin library directors currently taking certification courses. Several scholarships are available for spring 2022 certification courses. We will cover the entire cost of one certification course fee for each of winners. Textbooks costs (if applicable) are not included in this award. This award is applied to certification course registration fees and funds are not payable directly to the winner.

We offer the following courses in the spring of 2022:

  • Basic Public Library Administration
  • Organization and Management of Collections

Applicants must meet these requirements:

  • Only Wisconsin public library directors currently pursuing Grades II or III certification are eligible for this scholarship.
  • Previous scholarship winners are not eligible to win again.
  • Applicants are permitted to apply the scholarship to one course only.
  • One scholarship will be awarded per winner.
  • The scholarship must be applied to a course offered in the same semester as the award is given.
  • We encourage applications from directors who have applied previously but were not awarded a scholarship, as well as first-time applicants.

To Apply

Please send an email with “CE Scholarship” in the subject line to Meredith Lowe, In the body of the email, include your name, library, and a paragraph or two about how taking the certification courses helps you provide excellent service to your community, and how the scholarship funds will help your library. Applications are due by 5:00pm CST on Friday, December 17, 2021. The winners will be announced in late December.

If a winner has already registered for an upcoming certification course, their course fee will be refunded.

Questions may be directed to Meredith Lowe, or 608-890-0364.

Congratulations to our past winners!

Fall 2021

  • Linda Alsum-O’Donovan, Oakfield Public Library
  • Maxx Handel, Frances L. Simek Memorial Library (Medford, WI)
  • Jacqueline Pysarenko, Hillsboro Library

Spring 2021

  • Bonnie Carl, Milltown Public Library
  • Caitlin Opatik, Lone Rock Community Library
  • Tara Teasdale, McCoy Public Library (Shullsburg, WI)

Fall 2020

  • Tammy Hardinger, Pittsville Public Library
  • Laura Skalitzky, Princeton Public Library
  • Janay Ziebell, Neillsville Public Library

Spring 2020

  • Jodi Bailey, Poynette Area Public Library
  • Sarah DiPadova, Soldiers Grove Public Library
  • Mindy Hess, Taylor Memorial Library
  • Samma Johnson, Cadott Community Library
  • Leslie Peterson, Centuria Public Library
  • Kathryn Stempf, Bruce Area Library

Fall 2019

  • Shay Foxenberg, Shiocton Public Library
  • Le Ann Hopp, Marion Public Library
  • Ken Kittleson, Norwalk Public Library
  • Stephanie Schmidt, Crandon Public Library
  • Jodi Kessel Szpiszar, Butler Public Library
  • Lisa Thomas, Spring Green Public Library

Spring 2019

  • April Arndt, Ontario Public Library
  • Dawn Murphy, Lowell Public Library
  • Katie Schofield, Rock Springs Public Library

Fall 2018

  • Kayla Pettis, Taylor Public Library
  • Lauren Schuppe, Madeline Island Public Library
  • Jannette Thrane, Juneau Public Library

Spring 2018

  • Carol Deer, Packwaukee Public Library
  • Chris Kalupa, Berlin Public Library
  • Carol Petrina, Kewaunee Public Library

Fall 2017

  • Cathy Kolbeck, Algoma Public Library
  • Barbara Krueger, Deer Park Public Library
  • Sarah Kyrie, Argyle Public Library

Spring 2017

  • Erica Clarkson, Frances L. Simek Memorial Library (Medford, WI)
  • Shelly Knaack, Presque Isle Community Library
  • Rachel Martens, Hortonville Public Library

Fall 2016

  • Teresa Hall, Loyal Public Library

Spring 2016

  • Kristin Laufenberg, Farnsworth Public Library (Oconto, WI)

Fall 2015

  • Carla Huston, Jean M. Thomsen Memorial Library (Stetsonville, WI)

Fall 2013

  • Kim Metzke, Greenwood Public Library

Fall 2012

  • Arin Wilken, Mondovi Public Library