Jonathan Senchyne Elected to American Antiquarian Society

Congratulations to iSchool Associate Professor Jonathan Senchyne who was elected to membership in the American Antiquarian Society at its semiannual meeting at the Century Association in New York City. The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) is both a learned society and major independent research library in Massachusetts that houses the largest collection of books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, periodicals, and graphic arts material printed though through 1876 in what is now the United States. The organization was presented with the 2013 National Humanities Medal by President Barack Obama.

Senchyne’s election to the membership of the American Antiquarian Society is an honor bestowed by his colleagues in recognition of his scholarship in the history of the book in America and for exceptional contributions to community or national leadership in humanistic affairs. The Society’s current membership includes scholars, educators, publishers, collectors, cultural administrators, civic leaders, journalists, writers, and filmmakers. Fourteen presidents of the United States have been members, and AAS members have been awarded over sixty Pulitzer Prizes and over fifty Bancroft Prizes for their work. Members have been elected from every region of our nation and from thirty-three foreign countries. This year, Senchyne will be elected alongside another UW-Madison colleague, Associate Professor Brigitte Fielder. Other past and present elected members of the Society from the University of Wisconsin faculty include Frederick Jackson Turner, Rueben Gold Thwaites, Lyman Draper, Gerda Lerner, Merle Curti, Stephen Kantrowitz, Carl Kaestle, James Danky, Paul Boyer, and Anne Smart Martin.